Department of Physics

About Department

The Physics Department started its functioning since in the inception of the college known as Science College, Jorhat in the year 1971, which was the only general degree Science college under Govt. of Assam. It may be mentioned that Honours (Major) in Physics was compulsory from the beginning of the college. In the year 2008, Science College was renamed as Jorhat Institute of Science and Technology with an aim to expand the Institute.
Physics Department introduced M.Sc. Course under semester system mode from the academic session 2016-17 affiliated to Dibrugarh University. Now, all the courses of M.Sc. and B.Sc. are under CBCS system affiliated to Assam Science and Technology University, Guwahati, Assam from the year 2018-19 onward. Moreover Ph.D. programme in Physics started from the session 2019-20 under Assam Science and Technology University, Guwahati, Assam.
The department has well equipped laboratories, departmental library and a common computer laboratory for imparting the education to all fraternities of the department.

Vision: To build a foundation for excellence and encourage the development of the Institution as a premier Institution by igniting and promoting enthusiasm, interests and passion, in the study of physics, in professional courses, as a part of curriculum.
Mission: To create an environment where the faculties continue to grow as scholars providing high quality physics education and equipping students for higher education.